GENERAL BOMB MACHINE

[Bio-details]

GENERAL BOMB MACHINE was founded in 1990: four friends, who were strongly impressed by the progressive and innovative sounds of bands like VOIVOD, CORONER, WATCHTOWER etc. joined hands to create a new sound, which should be far away from the common metal-sounds at that time - without any compromise! After Christian (the fifth member and new singer) had taken over the micro from bass-playing Tom in 1992, the "GENERAL BOMBS" started to enter the stages near their home. Their gigs were received positively, but some of the spectators left the clubs disturbed by this kind of sick music - the musicians were satisfied. In August of 1992 the first demo, titled Pseudorevolution, was issued and looking at the fanzine-reviews there is the unanimous opinion that the sound and artwork of this tape were very well done.

In the following years the band played their first gigs in other countries (Poland, Denmark, Slovenia, Hungary) and flourished in a young bands movement in and around their home-town with its legendary club "Music Hall" (R.I.P.). After a contribution to the Slovenian No Border Jam- Sampler the result of this first generation of bands was published in the form of the common output Young dudes and the big beat, a sampler with two GBM tracks and songs of other home-region bands like FLOWERS IN CONCRETE and EVOCATION.

Subsequently GENERAL BOMB MACHINE had some support-gigs (e.g. MELVINS, DISHARMONIC ORCHESTRA, later gigs with DAS ICH, RAMMSTEIN and others should follow), until the day Tom left the band and was replaced by Gerli, another true friend of the musicians, who played his bass in a different and more melodic way from his predecessor. In spring of 1995 the second demo Black rain in Europa saw the light of day and as it was said in the Progression/Aggression - Zine the material of the tape was "darker, heavier and more discordant than GBM's prior recordings", but despite of the complexity more comprehensible. Besides song number one of the demo was part of the Tricompiler- Sampler together with FETISH 69, SANS SECOURS and others.

After a long odyssey GBM signed a contract with the Austrian CCP-Label in 1997 and published their first Mini-CD Dogma with four songs and the cover-version of Lee Hazelwoods Summerwine, which is still demanded by the audience vehemently at their gigs. The band stuck to their forward-looking approach to metal and their sick and heavy sounds and had in consequence their first headliner-shows in Austria. The live-gigs were supplemented with KaRaSu-video-performances to create a weird atmosphere - brutal sounds, sickening pictures, no fun at all!

Currently GENERAL BOMB MACHINE is working at their first full lenght CD, which will continue the evolution of their music.

Hombre (dr/ synth): Originality should be an important intention for a band, but you can't reach this goal only with crazy riffs and songs, which aren't comprehensible. As a musician I want to create emotional strange and of course heavy music, which causes an emotional response of the listener. Consequently it takes some time to unite weird instrumental parts and fluid song structures. I think for us and so called "progressive" bands in general this should be the aim to achieve.

Cme (g/ voc): The base is complex heaviness and the aim is to form annoying pictures. It's the fear of becoming random that drives GBM into new sounds. Some of them stay misunderstood, however, they hardly let somebody cold.

GENERAL BOMB MACHINE

[Bio-Details]

GENERAL BOMB MACHINE wurde im Jahre 1990 gegründet: Kräftig beeindruckt durch  die progressiven und innovativen Sounds von Bands wie VOIVOD, CORONER, WATCHTOWER etc. rotteten sich vier Freunde zusammen, um ihrerseits einen neuen Sound zu kreieren, der abseits der damals geläufigen Metal-Schubladen seine Nische finden sollte - und das ohne Kompromisse! Nachdem Christian als fünftes Mitglied und neuer Sänger 1992 das Mikrophon von Bassmann Tom übernommen hatte, starteten die "GENERAL BOMBS" einen ersten Sturm auf die Bühnen ihre Heimatregion. Diese ersten Attacken wurden durchwegs positiv aufgenommen, auch wenn einige BesucherInnen die heimgesuchten Clubs ob der etwas kranken Züge in der Musik mit verstörter Miene verließen - die Musiker waren zufrieden. Schließlich wurde im August desselben Jahres das erste Demo mit dem Titel Pseudorevolution veröffentlicht, dessen akustischer Inhalt nebst Artwork laut einhelliger Meinung zahlreicher Fanzine-Schreiberlinge als "very well done" bezeichnet werden konnte.

In den folgenden Jahren absolvierte die Band ihre ersten Auftritte im Ausland (Polen, Dänemark, Slowenien, Ungarn) und florierte in einer neuen Szene junger Bands rund um ihre Heimatstadt mit ihrem legendären Club "Music Hall" (R.I.P.). Nach einem Beitrag zum Slowenischen No Border Jam-Sampler fand das Resultat dieser ersten Bandgeneration in Form des Young dudes and the big beat-Samplers (mit zwei GBM-Tracks und Songs anderer Szene-Bands wie FLOWERS IN CONCRETE und EVOCATION) den Weg in die Öffentlichkeit.

Der Weg der GENERAL BOMB MACHINE führte weiter über einige Gigs als Opener (z.B. für DISHARMONIC ORCHESTRA, MELVINS, später sollten Support-Gigs für DAS ICH oder RAMMSTEIN folgen) bis zu dem Tag, an dem Tom die Band verließ und durch Gerli ersetzt wurde, ein Freund der Musiker, dessen Basspiel sich u.a. durch eine etwas melodischere Art von dem seines Vorgängers unterschied. Im Frühling des Jahres 1995 erblickte Demo Nr. 2 mit dem Titel Black Rain in Europa das Licht der Welt, dessen Inhalt laut fachkundigem Review im Progression / Aggression - Zine "darker, heavier and more discordant than GBM's prior recordings" ausgefallen war, trotz der Komplexität jedoch nachvollziehbarer erschien. Außerdem fanden zwei Tracks des Demos ihren Weg auf den TRICOMPILER-Sampler zusammen mit FETISH 69, SANS SECOURS u.a.

Nach einer langen Odyssee unterzeichnete GBM schließlich 1997 einen Vertrag mit dem österreichischen CCP-Label. Als erstes Produkt folgte die Mini-CD Dogma mit vier Songs und einer Coverversion von Lee Hazelwood's Summerwine, welche vom Publikum bis heute mit erstaunlicher Ausdauer bei jeder Live-Show gefordert wird. Die Band hielt an ihrem progressiven Ansatz mit seiner Krankhaftigkeit und vielschichtigen Härte fest und absolvierte die ersten Headliner-Gigs in Österreich. Die Live-Shows wurden nun durch KaRaSu-Video-Perfomances bereichert und ergänzt - eine unwirkliche Atmosphäre aus brutalen Sounds und kranken Bildern entstand, no fun at all!

Zur Zeit arbeitet die GENERAL BOMB MACHINE auf vollen Touren an der ersten Full length-CD. Die Evolution ihrer Musik schreitet weiter voran.

Hombre (dr/ synth): Originalität sollte eine wichtige Intention für jede Band darstellen. Dieses Ziel wird jedoch nicht durch reine Willkür, verrückte Riffs und Songs erreicht, die einfach nicht nachvollziehbar sind. Als Musiker will ich gefühlsstarke, fremdartige und natürliche harte Musik kreieren, die auch eine emotionale Antwort, egal welcher Art, bei ZuhörerInnen auslöst. Konsequenterweise braucht es seine Zeit, um ungewöhnliche Instrumental-Parts mit flüssigen Songstrukturen zu vereinigen, es ist ein organischer Prozeß. Ich glaube für uns und sogenannte "progressive" Bands im Allgemeinen ist dies ein gewaltiger Schritt nach vorne.

Cme (g/ voc): Die Basis ist komplexe Härte, und das Ziel ist, Bilder zu kreieren, die verstören. Es ist die Angst vor der Beliebigkeit, die GENERAL BOMB MACHINE stets in eigene Welten treibt. Oft bleiben diese unverstanden, kalt lassen sie jedoch selten jemanden.